Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Solution: CRITICAL ERROR -Start Menu and CORTANA aren't working

  1. #1
    Financial Editor
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    8

    Solution: CRITICAL ERROR -Start Menu and CORTANA aren't working

    CRITICAL ERROR - Start Menu and CORTANA aren't working. W'll try to fix it the next time you sign in. SIGN OUT NOW I upgraded from WIN 7 SP1 to build 10240 on FAST Track. I did a RECOVERY DRIVE, and after trying to restore from it, I am getting this message - in a loop, can not exit from it. I also find my backup and system image do not work.

    How do I get out of this DEEP hole?

    Thanks for any of your help.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    13

    Re: Solution: CRITICAL ERROR -Start Menu and CORTANA aren't working

    Getting the exact same thing as well, although I've been using preview builds for just over a month and despite using build 10240 since release I've only just gotten the error.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    6

    Re: Solution: CRITICAL ERROR -Start Menu and CORTANA aren't working

    Clicked on the computer Icon (right click), opened c drive, searched for control panel, opened control panel (right clicked). Removed Avast antivius. Restarted computer and problem solved. Now to find a good antivirus software.

  4. #4
    Junior Editor
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    14

    Re: Solution: CRITICAL ERROR -Start Menu and CORTANA aren't working

    You know, it's because of things like this that I know longer run anti-virus. They are like PUP's to me now. I scan with Malwarebytes. I use No script with a well established white and blacklist. In the recent past, I've used hosts files. I have not run a dedicated anti-virus program in 4 years. Oh, I have been using Malwarebytes anti-exploit tool with no problems.

Similar Threads

  1. *050# Error in Etisalat SIM
    By Layman in forum Broadband Telecom Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-06-2016, 02:43 PM
  2. ERR_CONNECTION_RESET Error code fix
    By Islam in forum Emirates Tech Support Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-02-2016, 01:41 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •